BerryBots forums

It is currently Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:54 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:12 am 
Site Admin

I’ve been writing Robocode bots for 7 years, so it’s hard for me not to draw comparisons between the Robocode and BerryBots game rules. And since Robocode is among the best and most popular programming games ever, it seems like a useful reference to have around.

What BerryBots lacks:
  • No radar management. You see in all directions, only blocked by walls.
  • No gun turning. You can fire in any direction.
  • No variable bullet power. All lasers/torpedos move at the same speed and do the same damage.
  • No energy management. No energy cost for bullets, no energy gained if they hit.
  • No complex scoring formula. A stage can handle scoring however it wants. The sample battle scoring library uses survival rounds for 1v1, or kills + damage for free-for-all battles.
  • No wall damage.
  • No ram damage.
  • No max speed.
  • No bullet-bullet collisions.
  • No filesystem access.

What BerryBots adds:
  • Walls. You navigate around them or hide behind them. They obstruct your vision and lasers (and everyone else’s).
  • Torpedos. Secondary weapon, more powerful but harder to aim, do splash damage and knockback, and move through ships and walls. A nice complement to the classic projectile weapon and to the presence of walls.
  • Programmable stages. You can create interesting configurations of walls and zones and write all types of custom gameplay or scoring. So bot programming doesn’t have to just mean battling other bots - it can mean navigating mazes, racing, jousting, arcade style challenges, targeting challenges, battle mode variants, or anything else you come up with.
  • Easier to program teams. A team is a single program that controls multiple ships. No need for laggy inter-bot communication and the entire team automatically shares all vision of the battle.